

Office of the President Tel 2012165213 president@stevens.edu

October 23, 2020

To Faculty, Staff, and Students:

Earlier this year, a set of goals and actions to support the <u>Standing Together, Standing Against</u> <u>Racism</u> initiative was announced to the Stevens community. As we strive toward achieving a fully equitable and inclusive community, I am pleased to announce the formation of the <u>President's Task Force on Equity and Inclusive Excellence</u>. The charge of this Task Force is to understand racial and other inequities that may exist at Stevens and make recommendations for improvement based on data, best practices, and applicable law.

Considerable input from the Stevens community will be needed for this Task Force to do its work. The Task Force will gather input through listening sessions, surveys, and focus groups and will regularly communicate its progress to the Stevens community, including through updates in the goals section of the newly-launched <u>Diversity and Inclusion website</u>.

The Task Force will begin its work in November 2020 and conclude early in the spring semester.

I am grateful to the following members of the Stevens community who have agreed to serve on the *President's Task Force on Equity and Inclusive Excellence*.

- Dr. Peter Dominick, Teaching Professor, School of Business (Co-Chair)
- Ms. Susan Metz, Executive Director, Diversity and Inclusion, Office of the President (Co-Chair)
- Mr. Warren Petty, Vice President for Human Resources (Co-Chair)
- Mr. Jose Angeles '19
- Ms. Emily Ashbolt, doctoral student, Biomedical Engineering '23
- Ms. Marissa Brock '99
- Ms. LaToyia Carter, Executive Assistant to the Vice President for Facilities and Campus Operations
- Ms. Tiffany Fonque, undergraduate student, Civil Engineering, Class of 2022
- Mr. Jaquion Gholston, Associate Director, Sponsored Accounting and Cost Analysis
- Dr. Sara Klein, Assistant Vice President for Student Affairs
- Dr. Adeniyi Lawal, Professor and Chair of the Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science, Schaefer School of Engineering and Science
- Dr. Yehia Massoud, Dean of the School of Systems and Enterprises
- Ms. Karla Medina, Senior Marketing Manager, Division of Communications and Marketing
- Mr. Edmund Ocansey, graduate student, Engineering and Industrial Management '21
- Ms. Maria Ouckama, Assistant Vice President of Human Resources

- Mr. Russell Rogers, Director of Athletics
- Dr. Dibyendu Sarkar, Professor, Department of Civil, Environmental and Ocean Engineering, Schaefer School of Engineering and Science and Faculty Senate Chair
- Ms. Kathy Schulz, Esq., Vice President, General Counsel and Secretary to the Board of Trustees
- Mr. Joshua Small, undergraduate student, Mechanical Engineering, Class of 2022
- Ms. Diane Sosa, Staff Therapist, Counseling and Psychological Services
- Dr. Lindsey Swindall, Teaching Assistant Professor, College of Arts and Letters
- Dr. Jeffrey Thompson, Associate Professor, College of Arts and Letters
- Dr. David Zeng, Vice Provost for Academic Innovation and Faculty Affairs

I am hopeful that our community will be enriched by increasing our awareness of each other's life experiences, and I thank you in advance for supporting the Task Force as its members undertake this critically important work.

Per aspera ad astra,

Nariman Farvardin President