

## Office of the President

Tel 201 216 5213 president@stevens.edu

April 28, 2022

To Faculty, Staff and Students:

We are pleased to announce that Professor Yi Guo of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering in the Charles V. Schaefer, Jr. School of Engineering and Science has begun serving as the Thomas E. Hattrick Chair Professor in Information Systems Engineering.

Professor Guo was appointed to a five-year term that began January 1, 2022. She is the latest in a distinguished list of faculty members to hold the Hattrick Chair, named for a member of the Stevens Class of 1942.

Endowed chairs are an important part of our ongoing effort to build Stevens' reputation as a world-class academic institution. They enable us to attract and retain top-flight faculty and to recognize the achievements of distinguished professors who are leading their fields.

Hattrick, a devoted alumnus, established a lasting legacy at Stevens. He generously endowed a scholarship fund, an electrical engineering laboratory and the Hattrick Chair, intended to help Stevens attract and retain accomplished faculty and become a leader in the development of new information systems and services.

Professor Guo, an internationally recognized scholar whose research career in mobile robotics spans more than two decades, focuses on mobile robotics and control systems. She is the founder of Stevens' Robotics and Automation Laboratory.

Since joining Stevens, she has received more than \$5 million in research funding, including \$2.2 million as a principal investigator, published two books and 131 journal and conference articles, and graduated eight Ph.D. students. She has received the Best Paper award at international conferences and delivered numerous invited talks, including the keynote speech at IROS2019, the premier robotics conference. In 2020, Stevens honored Professor Guo with the Provost's Award for Research Excellence.

Professor Guo also has a distinguished record of service to Stevens. She has served on the Faculty Senate twice (2015-2017 and 2020-present) and has been a member of committees at both the school and department levels. She was elected as Faculty Trustee in 2020 and 2021.

Please join us in congratulating Professor Guo.

Per aspera ad astra,

Nariman Farvardin

President

Jianmin Ou

Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost