

Nariman Farvardin Tel 201 216 5213 Fax 201 216 8250

September 14, 2015

To the Stevens Community,

In May, I sent a <u>summary</u> of the results from the second administration of the Excellence in All We Do survey conducted in Spring 2015. At that time, I committed to respond to the survey findings with the goal of improving the community's experience with units with reported "dissatisfaction ratings" above 20%.

To this end, I am pleased to report the formation of three committees that I have charged with the task of probing the sentiments expressed in the Spring 2015 survey regarding the Division of Human Resources, the Payroll Office, and the Office of the Registrar. Each of the three committees will operate within a similar process and timeline to understand the underlying issues that have led to the poor ratings. In addition, each committee will make recommendations for the improvement of the unit reviewed. The committees' work will commence during the Fall 2015 semester, with a report to be presented to me before the end of this calendar year.

Committee members include:

## **Committee on the Division of Human Resources**

- Mr. David Dodd, Vice President for Information Technology and CIO
- Dr. Matthew Libera, Associate Dean for Graduate Academics and Professor of Materials Engineering
- Ms. Susan Metz, Executive Director of Diversity & Inclusion and Senior Research Associate, Office of the President\*
- Ms. Marybeth Murphy, Vice President for Enrollment Management and Student Affairs
- Dr. Edward Whittaker, Professor of Physics & Engineering Physics

## **Committee on the Payroll Office**

- Ms. Barbara Arnett, Systems Specialist, Division of Human Resources
- Dr. Anthony Barrese, Distinguished Service Professor & Associate Dean, School of Systems & Enterprises
- Ms. Marsha Melnyk, Director of Strategic Initiatives and Planning, Division of Enrollment Management and Student Affairs
- Ms. Susan Metz, Executive Director of Diversity & Inclusion and Senior Research Associate, Office of the President

• Dr. Michael zur Muehlen, Associate Dean of Graduate Studies, School of Business\*

## **Committee on the Office of the Registrar**

- Ms. Cindy Chin, Associate Director and Interim Director of Undergraduate Admissions, Division of Enrollment Management and Student Affairs
- Ms. Rosemary Dice, Associate Dean of Undergraduate Academics, Office of the Provost
- Dr. Ann Murphy, Associate Dean, School of Business
- Ms. Marybeth Murphy, Vice President for Enrollment Management and Student Affairs\*
- Dr. Keith Sheppard, Associate Dean of the Schaefer School of Engineering & Science, Professor of Chemical Engineering & Materials Science

## \* Denotes Committee Chair.

Two committee members will serve on two different committees to ensure committees operate with similar guidelines and approaches throughout the process.

I wish to extend my sincere appreciation to each member of the three committees for agreeing to serve in this important role. I also encourage both members of the units being reviewed and any members of the community who may provide input to the committees to participate fully in this process in order to ensure that the committees' findings and recommendations address the critical issues impacting customer satisfaction.

Lastly, I want to underscore that this activity is an important aspect of a process intended solely to advance the University toward its goal of becoming a premier, student-centric, technological research university that practices *Excellence in All We Do*. The recommendations and outcomes of this process will strengthen Stevens and enable the University to make better use of institutional resources in order to continue to deliver a stellar education to our exceptional students. I look forward to keeping you informed of the progress of this effort.

Per aspera ad astra,

Nariman Farvardin President