

Office of the President

Tel 201 216 5213 president@stevens.edu

August 31, 2021

To Faculty, Staff, and Students:

I am pleased to announce that Dr. Christophe Pierre has been appointed the Jess H. Davis Endowed Chair in Mechanical Engineering for a period of five years, effective September 1, 2021. The nomination for this appointment was initiated by Dr. Souran Manoochehri, Professor and Chair of the Department of Mechanical Engineering, and Dr. Jean Zu, Dean of the Schaefer School of Engineering and Science; the application was reviewed and supported by an ad hoc faculty review committee and me, and approved by the Stevens Board of Trustees.

This appointment is in recognition of the excellence of Dr. Pierre's record of scholarly activities and in anticipation and support of his plans to build a strong research program in the areas of vibrations, structural dynamics and dynamical systems. Dr. Pierre's research will aim to make decisive advances in understanding and predicting the vibration response of complex structural systems by developing innovative phenomenological models and the attendant efficient numerical methods capable of handling their complicated dynamics. His research will focus on high-fidelity modeling of multi-stage bladed rotors and nonlinear vibration of large-scale complex systems.

Dr. Pierre is an internationally recognized scholar in vibrations, structural dynamics and nonlinear dynamics, where he is best recognized for pioneering research on mode localization in disordered periodic structures. His vibratory response prediction codes have been licensed to all major jet engine manufacturers worldwide, the U.S. Air Force and NASA. He is the author or coauthor of more than 300 refereed publications and has graduated more than 35 doctoral students from his research group. Dr. Pierre is a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, the National Academy of Inventors and the American Academy of Mechanics.

Please join me in congratulating Dr. Christophe Pierre on his appointment as the Jess H. Davis Endowed Chair in Mechanical Engineering.

Per aspera ad astra,

Nariman Farvardin

President