

October 3, 2011

Dear Trustees, Faculty, Staff, Students, Alumni, Parents and Friends of Stevens,

I am pleased to announce the launch of a comprehensive strategic planning exercise for Stevens Institute of Technology. Building on the hard work and significant accomplishments of many dedicated members of the community, this plan will chart a road map for Stevens' ascent over the next decade. The planning exercise will begin immediately and conclude at the end of the current academic year.

After extensive consultation with many, I have formed a Strategic Planning Steering Committee consisting of outstanding members of our community and representing diverse constituencies: trustees, faculty, staff, students, administrators and alumni. The composition of the Strategic Planning Steering Committee is outlined at the end of this announcement. With input and feedback from the Stevens community, and using its collective wisdom and experience, the Committee will develop a strategic plan for review and final approval by the Board of Trustees.

The plan will be transformational, yet realistic. Its purpose will be to steer Stevens toward a destination that places a premium on excellence in everything it does: its educational programs; its research and innovation activities; the values it instills in the members of its community; its technology commercialization programs; and its impact on the region, nation and the world, among other areas. In crafting the Strategic Plan, we must take advantage of our distinctive advantages and strengths: the pivotal role a technology-centered university like Stevens can and must play in addressing our increasingly complex societal problems; our location at the epicenter of the corporate world, offering unparalleled opportunities for partnerships; our ability to move quickly and nimbly in responding to opportunities; and the rising importance of, and demand for, a technology savvy workforce. The strategic plan will raise expectations for the entire community, set specific and ambitious goals, and aspire to elevate the stature of the university.

The planning process will be inclusive and transparent—one that engenders a sense of trust and togetherness and creates excitement about the future. The Committee will solicit input and feedback from various stakeholders and will organize discussion sessions with the community to refine its ideas before submitting its proposed plan to the Board of Trustees.

I am grateful to all members of the Strategic Planning Steering Committee for agreeing to participate in this critical planning exercise. Please join me in thanking the members of the committee and in supporting them to develop a first-rate plan for the Institute.

## The Strategic Planning Steering Committee Membership

- 1. Michael Bruno--Dean, Schaefer School of Engineering and Science, co-chair
- 2. Dinesh Verma--Dean, School of Systems and Enterprises co-chair
- 3. Kendra Appleheimer--Undergraduate Student, Mechanical Engineering
- 4. Yingying (Jennifer) Chen--Assistant Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
- 5. Christos Christodoulatos--Associate Provost of Academic Entrepreneurship
- 6. Edward Eichhorn--Vice President for Development
- 7. Frank Fisher--Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering
- 8. Ralph Giffin--Associate Provost of Graduate Programs Enterprise
- 9. German Gonzalo Creamer--Associate Professor, Quantitative Finance and Financial Engineering
- 10. Randy Greene--CFO, Vice President for Finance and Treasurer
- 11. Dilhan Kalyon--Institute Professor, Chemical Engineering and Materials Science
- 12. Mark LaRosa--Trustee; President, Stevens Alumni Association; CEO, QuotaCrush
- 13. Ann Mooney Murphy--Associate Professor and Associate Dean of Undergraduate Studies, Technology Management
- 14. Virginia Ruesterholz--Trustee; Executive Vice President and President, Verizon Services Operations
- 15. Brian Sauser--Assistant Professor, Systems Engineering and Engineering Management
- 16. Michael Schinelli--Assistant Vice President for Marketing and Communications
- 17. Michael Steinmann--Associate Professor, Philosophy
- 18. Svetlana Sukhishvili--Professor, Chemistry
- 19. Bo Yang, Graduate Student, Computer Engineering
- 20. Michael zur Muehlen--Associate Professor, Information Systems

Sincerely yours,

) Krvardin

Nariman Farvardin President