

Office of the President

1 Castle Point Terrace Hoboken, NJ 07030 stevens.edu

April 24, 2023

To All Faculty and Staff:

Please join me on Wednesday, April 26, 2023, 12:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m. in the UCC Tech Flex Room to celebrate the accomplishments of our colleagues and friends at the 2022-23 Stevens Annual Employee Recognition Ceremony. This ceremony honors colleagues with academic year service anniversaries in multiples of five-year increments and those receiving awards in one of several categories aligned with Stevens' strategic values.

The recipients of the 2022-23 Stevens Employee Recognition Awards, listed below, were selected through a formal process, involving nomination by peers and review by a committee of faculty and staff.

Congratulations to this year's awardees:

Excellence in All We Do:

- Maryam Mirza, Senior Director IT, Client Experiences and Strategic Initiatives, Division of Information Technology
- Elizabeth O'Connell, Manager of the Center for Student Success, Civil, Environmental and Ocean Engineering, School of Engineering and Science
- Jean Lee, Director, International Student and Scholar Services, Office of the Provost -International Student and Scholar Services

Strengthened Reputation, Increased Prestige:

- Greg Townsend, Senior Director of Corporate, Government and Community Relations,
 Division of University Relations and Office of Chief of Staff
- Dan Buehring, Head Men's Volleyball Coach, Division of Student Affairs Athletics and Recreation
- Thania Benios, Senior Director of Public and Media Relations, Division of University Relations and Office of Chief of Staff

Student-Centricity:

- Mary Newell, Office Manager, Chemistry and Chemical Biology, School of Engineering and Science
- Linda Beninghove, Library Director, Office of the Provost Office of Academic Innovation and Faculty Affairs
- Lindsay Hartelius, Assistant Director of Undergraduate Outreach and Reputation, School of Business

Technology at Our Core:

- Louis Oh, Engineering Laboratory Manager, SES Core Education, School of Engineering and Science
- Rafat Azad, Cybersecurity Engineer, Division of Information Technology
- Dariel Bobadilla, Associate Director of Systems, Data & Analytics, Office of the Provost Office of Graduate Education

Through Collaboration, Impact:

- Ashley Lytle, Assistant Professor of Psychology, College of Arts and Letters
- Albeirys Francisco, Facilities Planner, Division of Facilities and Campus Operations
- Jenna Nimar, Director of Corporate and Foundation Relations, Division of Development and Alumni Engagement

Transformative Teamwork:

Stevens NextGen Wireless Deployment Project

- Dereck Persaud, Senior Project Manager, Division of Facilities and Campus Operations
- Hammad Ali, Senior Director of Infrastructure Services, Division of Information Technology
- Jayson Viray, Senior Network Administrator, Division of Information Technology
- Luis Quispe, Associate Director of Network and Telecom Engineering, Division of Information Technology
- Mauricio Castano, Senior Network and Telecom Engineer, Division of Information Technology
- Ted Vallejos, Technology Infrastructure Project Coordinator, Division of Information Technology

Lifetime Contribution Award:

- Erol Cesmebasi, Associate Dean, School of Engineering and Science
- Charles "Tim" Koeller, Emeritus Professor, School of Business

This was an especially competitive cycle for Stevens' Employee Recognition Awards, with many deserving colleagues and teams. I would also like to recognize <u>all who were nominated</u> this year, and I thank each of you for your efforts and contributions to Stevens' progress across the university. I look forward to having breakfast with these colleagues on May 2, 2023.

Lastly, I am deeply appreciative to the members of the Employee Recognition Committee who worked collaboratively to select this year's honorees:

- Jing Chen, Assistant Professor, School of Business, Chair
- David Fernandez, Director of Environmental Health and Safety and Insurance Risk Management, Division of Finance
- Edlyn Thompson-Mettle, Director of High School Enrichment Programs, Division of Student Affairs
- Johannes Weickenmeier, Assistant Professor, School of Engineering and Science
- Kristen Conti, Identity Systems Administrator, Division of Information Technology
- Michelle Crilly, Assistant Dean for Student Success, School of Business
- Rainer Martini, Associate Professor and Associate Dean for Graduate Studies, School of Engineering and Science
- Ying Wu, Associate Professor, School of Business

I look forward to congratulating our colleagues and to seeing you at this year's event.

Per aspera ad astra,

Nariman Farvardin

President